Mummy's Alphabet Soup

ASD, ADHD, SALT, SENCO, CAMHS – it's all mixed up into alphabet soup here!

Thought of the Day – Should I Say Hi?

Leave a comment

Today sitting in a cafe I spotted a fairly obvious autistic child sat with a couple who I guessed were his grandparents.  Then again I could be wrong, they may have been his parents, having had children in later life.  Anyway, I digress.

I sat there trying to decide whether to go up and say hi, and if so, then what.  He obviously had needs but would they be offended if I walked up and acknowledged the child’s issues and ‘diagnosed’ without so much as a by your leave?  In the end I left it.  I was scared of offending or upsetting them.  But would a stranger’s kind words and compassion from being in a similar situation have offended them or would they have welcomed the shared bond that is forged between ASD parents?

I’m still not sure what I should have done.  What would you have done?

Author: Heather Hurst

Mum to three adorable (?) kids: Tulip, a delightful young lady who is the main authoress of our alphabet soup, being diagnosed with ASD and ADHD; Tobias, a cheeky little boy who objects to being called cute who shows all the signs of ASD; and Daffodil, a small person who has dreams of grandeur and although mostly NT likes to keep me guessing by spinning in circles and other ASD traits! We live somewhere in Wales with varying numbers of cats and I spend most of my time on the phone to the various acronymed services!

Leave a Reply

